# **SADA UPDATE**

# Tuesday 20 March 2018

SADA congratulates the new government on its election and looks forward to constructively working with the Marshall team to fulfil its commitment to the South Australian Dairy industry.

During the election campaign we wrote to all parties raising six issues with them. The Liberals have now taken government, and these are their commitments to SADA:

- Commitment to ACCC Recommendations: SA is now committed to supporting
  the recommendations of the ACCC in implementing those recommendations
  when handed down. The ACCC is currently recommending a mandatory code of
  conduct in the dairy industry.
- **Energy**:- The Liberal government is now committed to consistency of supply and as affordable as possible. The focus for the new Government will be less on renewable and more on effectiveness and expense.
- Transport & Infrastructure:- The Liberals have committed to the implementation of the 90 day plan as well as an infrastructure fund that will see 30% of the state's royalties paid into the fund and expended in regional areas.
- **NRM**:- The state Liberals have committed to a fund that will be administered at a local board level for volunteer, community and not for profit groups to access. The boards will be of seven members, three of which will be locally elected.
- Planning, Mining and Gas:- The Liberals have committed to a 10 year fracking moratorium in the South East. They have committed for more money to the Small Business Commissioner and they have also promised consultations on the rewrite of the Mining Act.
- **Research, Development and Biosecurity**:- The Liberals have committed to a stand alone PIRSA and a properly funded SARDI.

We look forward to working with the new Government in South Australia and we will keep members appraised of progress.

# Know your local member:

This is a list of those electorates that have dairy farms in them or which have a proximity to a rural electorate with a dairy farm.

## **Mount Gambier:**

**Troy Bell** continues to be the local member as an independent. Troy was a member of the Liberal Party as the sitting member. He stepped aside from his role in the Liberal Party after being charged with some offences. That remains a matter for the courts to deal with. He has been handsomely returned as the local member.

## MacKillop:

With the retirement of Mitch Williams, the vacated seat was won by **Nick McBride** for the Liberal Party. Nick McBride is a local grazier born, raised, living and operating a business in the South East, Nick says he appreciates first hand local issues and the hardships that regional communities bear over their city counterparts.

#### Hammond:

**Adrian Pederick** is a Liberal and the owner of a farming property in Coomandook at the southern end of the Hammond electorate. He was promoted to the front bench in September 2008, then sent back to the back bench when Stephen Marshall became leader in February 2013, then given a parliamentary secretary position in mid-2014.

## Finniss:

**David Basham** is the new member in Finniss. He will be known to all of you as the immediate past President of SADA. As a local dairy farmer David understands the challenges facing the dairy industry and will be a strong political voice of dairy in the state parliament.

#### Mawson:

The Labor Party's **Leon Bignell** looks to be returned to his seat. While still in doubt at the time of publication it is likely he'll win. Many people had written Leon off after the boundary changes turned the seat into a nominally Liberal seat but it appears he may hold his seat with a margin of less than 1%. Counting continues.

## Heysen:

Josh Teague looks to enter parliament on the back of his numbers in Heysen. The new Liberal member is an Adelaide barrister and son of former Senator Baden Teague. A local to the Hills who lives in Bridgewater with his family, Josh says he will use his broad professional experience to give back to the community. He is the Honorary Consul of Sweden and has also volunteered in governance for Nature Foundation SA among other community organisations.

## Kavel:

With Mark Goldsworthy's retirement, the new Liberal member is **Dan Cregan**, a 32-year-old lawyer based in Mount Barker and former state president of the Young Liberals. Cregan worked as an associate to the Chief Justice of South Australia before taking on a position in an international law firm. Before his election he ran a private practice in Mount Barker.

# Chaffey:

Liberal member **Tim Whetstone** is a former chair of South Australian Murray Irrigators Association. He was promoted to parliamentary secretary when Steven Marshall became leader in February 2013, then to shadow cabinet when it was expanded in mid-2014, taking on investment and trade.

#### Schubert:

A former manager of Barossa Fine Foods, **Stephan Knoll** has been quickly promoted since his election in 2014, becoming a parliamentary secretary in January 2016 and a shadow minister in the police, emergency and correctional services portfolios in January 2017.

## Frome:

Independent **Geoff Brock** has been returned. Prior to his by-election win in 2009, Geoff Brock had been mayor of Port Pirie Regional Council for six years, a councillor for 20, and a worker at Port Pirie's Nyrstar smelter for 31. He entered cabinet under the arrangement reached with Labor after the 2014 election, as Minister for Regional Development and Local Government.